The MACRA regulation went into effect January 1, 2017 and created the Quality Payment Program (QPP). The QPP streamlines multiple quality reporting programs into one Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS), where clinicians are given a composite score based on performance in Quality, Promoting Interoperability (use of electronic medical records), Improvement Activities and Cost.

Providers in an ACO are exempt from reporting Cost and receive full credit for Improvement Activities. The Promoting Interoperability score is a weighted average of all ACO participants’ scores. Quality is reported annually by the ACO to CMS.

The 2018 Final MIPS Composite Score for SJHP ACO was 100 out of 100 points.

Quality: 50 of 50 points

Promoting Interoperability: 30 of 30 points

Improvement Activities: 20 of 20 points

Cost: N/A

Total: 100